web stats analysis
Press "Enter" to skip to content

Former Parliament Speaker Wijemu Lokubandara Passed Away Due to Corona

Former Parliament Speaker, Governor and a Minister, Wijesinghe Jayaweera Mudiyanselage Lokubandara (commonly known as Wijumu Lokubandara) was infected by CoVID-19 a few days ago.

He was admitted to the Intensive Care Unit of the IDH Hospital last week for further treatments.
According to IDH Hospital doctors, Wijemu Lokubandara’s condition worsened, therefore he was transferred to the ICU to maintain his oxygen level.

However, Former Parliament Speaker, Wijemu Lokubandara passed away yesterday (14) while receiving treatments for CoVID-19. According to the IDH Hospital sources, current Health Minister Pavithra Wanniarachchi also admitted to the intensive care unit of the IDH hospital and receiving treatments for CoVID-19.

Wijesinghe Jayaweera Mudiyanselage Lokubandara was a Governor of Sabaragamuwa Province from 2010 to 2015. Wijumu Lokubandara is a songwriter, author and a lawyer by profession.

Before become as the Parliament Speaker, he held several ministries in the Sri Lanka Freedom Party and Podujana Peramuna Party.

Wijemu was born in Haputhale in 1941 August 5th. He completed his primary education at Yahala-Bedda School and joined Bandarawella Central College to complete his secondary education.

After finishing his secondary studies he entered into the University of Peradeniya and obtained Arts Degree. He also Graduated in Arts from the University of London.

Wijemu Lokubandara entered to the parliament in 1977 by representing the United National Party (UNP). In this election he defeated Mr. Dissanayaka. He was the son of former Cabinet minister W.P.G.Ariyadasa.

Wijemu was appointed as the Cabinet Minister in 1989 and was given the Ministries of Cultural Affairs, Education and Media. The post was given by the former President Ranasingha Premadasa.

In 2004, Lokubandara was appointed as the 17th Speaker of the Sri Lankan Parliament after receiving 110 votes while the other parliament member who contest for the Speaker seat from the government part side only gained 109 votes.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2019 - 2020 www.lankastars.info All Rights Reserved.